Sparring as Teaching

Discuss other HEMA-related topics.
Richard Marsden
HEMA Alliance Member

Sparring as Teaching

Postby Richard Marsden » Tue Mar 15, 2016 7:28 am

Sparring as Teaching

Every club or school has their own way of introducing students to sparring. That may be, right away, not for a long time, or for some - never. My own view, and that of the Phoenix Society, is that sparring is better sooner, rather than later, and many of the reasons why not to do it are not true. Leap into it!

My day job is that of a teacher. As of this post, 14 years and counting. When it comes to swordplay, I've been involved in 'sword stuff' for almost twenty years, and HEMAA for 9. One of the things I have learned is that doing and teaching are in of themselves the best teachers. Students need to utilize what they learn and they do not have to perfect it on the first attempt. So- what is doing?

Sparring.

YOU are going to learn.

A new student to the Phoenix Society, or a guest (you're all welcome to visit) are usually introduced into sparring as soon as possible. Sparring is a large part of the Phoenix Society, and it is the reason we produce, and have produced, excellent fighters when it comes to the tournament scene. Tournaments are not the end all be all, but they do show that under pressure, in a controlled environment, those participating can get their techniques to work against the unwilling. In the beginning, it was just John and I, but now there is Kyle, Cliff, Chris, Randy, Adam, ... and the list goes on and on. It has come to the point that students of my students are starting to perform well. We're doing something right.